Antitrust Jukebox: three (very) unique webinars

Nicolas Petit and I are pleased to welcome you to the Antitrust Jukebox. During three (very) unique webinars, we will question our (very) special guests on their top 3 academic articles ever written, their top 3 advice to young researchers, and their top 3 things they’d change in antitrust. It will be both friendly and informative. Join us!

Registration (free) at:

When: June 30, July 1 & 2, from 4pm to 5pm CEST (11am EDT) on Zoom.

Our guests:

  • Anna Tzanaki: Anna Tzanaki is a Marie Skłodowska-Curie Research Fellow at Lund University, having been awarded a Horizon 2020 research grant by the European Commission under the EU Framework Programme for Research and Innovation, for her research project on the competition implications of partial ownership of rival firms in Europe (2019-2021). She is also a Senior Research Fellow at the UCL Centre for Law, Economics & Society and an Associate Editor of the Journal of Competition Law & Economics (Oxford) and Competition Policy International (Boston). Her main research interests lie in the areas of competition law, corporate law, law & economics, economic regulation and governance, institutions, public policy, EU, and comparative law.
  • Babette Boliek: Professor Babette Boliek joined the Pepperdine faculty in 2009 and conducts research in the fields of antitrust law, telecommunications, privacy law, and sports law. As an expert in the fields of economics and communications law, Professor Boliek was selected and served as the Chief Economist of the Federal Communications Commission from 2018 to 2019. Her research has been published in academic publications and law reviews such as Boston College Law Review, Cornell Law Review, Fordham Law Review, Hastings Law Journal, and the Review of Industrial Organization. Professor Boliek earned her BA with distinction from California State University, Chico, her JD from Columbia University School of Law, and her PhD in Economics from the University of California, Davis. While at Columbia, she was both a Harlan Fiske Stone Scholar and a John M. Olin Fellow for Law and Economics. Her doctoral, and much of her subsequent research, has focused on the theoretical and quantitative analysis of legal issues in the U.S. communications industry. Professor Boliek clerked for the Honorable Michael B. Mukasey of the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of New York and is admitted to practice law in the State of New York.
  • Bill Kovacic: Before joining the law school in 1999, William E. Kovacic was the George Mason University Foundation Professor at the George Mason University School of Law. From January 2006 to October 2011, he was a member of the Federal Trade Commission and chaired the agency from March 2008 to March 2009. He was the FTC’s General Counsel from June 2001 to December 2004. In 2011 he received the FTC’s Miles W. Kirkpatrick Award for Lifetime Achievement. Since August 2013, Professor Kovacic has served as a Non-Executive Director with the United Kingdom’s Competition and Markets Authority. From January 2009 to September 2011, he was Vice-Chair for Outreach for the International Competition Network. He has advised many countries and international organizations on antitrust, consumer protection, government contracts, and the design of regulatory institutions.
  • Michelle Connolly: Michelle P. Connolly is Professor of the Practice in the Economics Department at Duke University. She was the Economics Director of Duke in New York: Financial Markets and Institutions Program for 2007-2009 and the Director of EcoTeach for several years. She served as one of two Arts & Sciences faculty members of the Duke Alumni Association Board from 2012-2016. Professor Connolly currently serves as the Director of the Honors Program in Economics. In 2011, Professor Connolly won the Howard D. Johnson Trinity College Teaching Prize and was named among the top five percent of Duke University Undergraduate Instructors in 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2017. Professor Connolly previously served as Chief Economist of the Federal Communications Commission in 2006-2007 and 2008-2009, and as an Economist for the International Research Function for the Federal Reserve Bank of New York from 1996 to 1997. She graduated Phi Beta Kappa and Summa Cum Laude from Yale University in 1990, and went on to earn her M.A. and M.Phil in economics. Professor Connolly received her Ph.D. in economics from Yale University in 1996.
  • Okeoghene Odudu: Dr Odudu is a Fellow of Emmanuel College and Deputy Director of the Centre for European Legal Studies.  He teaches Competition and EU law and serves on the editorial boards of the European Competition Journal, the Cambridge Yearbook of European Legal Studies and Concurrences.  From September 2004 to September 2006 he was Lecturer in Competition Law at the School of Law, King’s College London,  having  begun his career as a Fellow in Law at Downing College, Cambridge.  He holds a DPhil from Oxford, awarded for research on aspects of Article 101 TFEU, which was funded by the AHRB, supervised by Professor Paul Craig and examined by Professors Stephen Weatherill and Richard Whish. During his time as a doctoral student he was awarded a Scholarship by the Kennedy Memorial Trust and spent a year at the European Law Research Center at Harvard Law School. In the 2011-2012 academic year he was awarded a British Academy Mid-Career Fellowship to conduct research into the application of competition law to NHS institutions in England. He read law as an undergraduate at Sidney Sussex College, Cambridge, and received an MA in Criminology from Keele University (funded by the ESRC).
  • Pablo Ibáñez Colomo: Pablo Ibáñez Colomo is Professor of Law and Jean Monnet Chair in Competition and Regulation at the London School of Economics and Political Science. He is also a Visiting Professor at the College of Europe (Bruges), Joint General Editor of the Journal of European Competition Law & Practice (Oxford University Press) and co-editor of the Chillin’ Competition Blog. He received a PhD from the European University Institute in June 2010 (Jacques Lassier Prize). Before joining the EUI as a Researcher in 2007, he taught for three years at the Law Department of the College of Europe (Bruges), where he also completed an LLM in 2004. He has been a Visiting Professor at several institutions around the world, including Aix-Marseille University, Instituto Tecnológico Autónomo de México, Kobe University and Torcuato di Tella University.


Related Posts